General Information - D. Categories of persons who do NOT require a visa to enter the Republic of Cyprus
• Citizens of ALL EU member states, as well as, of Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. They can also travel with their Identity Card, provided it bears the holder’s photo.
• Holders of diplomatic passports of Albania, Azerbaijan, Bosnia Herzegovina, Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Qatar.
• Holders of diplomatic and service passports of Armenia, China, Costa Rica, Georgia, Iran, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, Moldova, Russian Federation, Serbia, Seychelles and Ukraine.
• Holders of diplomatic, service, and special passports of Egypt, Kuwait, Lebanon, Morroco, Oman, Syria and of the United Arab Emirates.
• Holders of diplomatic, official and service passports of Colombia, Cuba, India, Mexico, Pakistan and of Panama.
• Holders of diplomatic or official passports of the Republic of Korea.
• Holders of biometric passports of Albania, Bosnia Herzegovina, Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and of Moldova.
• All flight crew members who are holding Flight crew Member’s License or a Crew Member Certificate issued under the Chicago Convention.
• The flight crew and attendants on emergency or rescue flights and other assistants in the event of disaster or accident.
• The civilian crew of ships.
• The holders of United Nations laissez-passer.
• The holders of Council of Europe laissez-passer.
• Holders of valid double or multiple entry Schengen visa or Bulgarian, Croatian and Romanian, as well as residence permits issued by Schengen Member States or by Bulgaria, Croatia and Romania, are not required to hold a short-stay visa to enter the Republic of Cyprus for a time period that does not exceed 90 days in any 180 day period. This provision doesn’t apply to Citizens of Turkey and Azerbaijan who have to follow the regular visa issuance procedure.
The Republic of Cyprus has adopted the provisions of Decision No. 565/2014/EU of the European Parliament and of the Council of 15 May 2014 introducing a simplified regime for the control of persons at the external borders based on the unilateral recognition by Cyprus as well as by Bulgaria, Croatia and Romania of certain documents as equivalent to their national visas for transit through or intended stays on their territories not exceeding 90 days in any 180-day period.
• Holders of travel documents issued to recognised refugees under the Convention relating to the Status Refugees of 28 July 1951, do not require a visa to enter Cyprus, if their travel documents are issued by a member-state of Schengen or by a state listed in Annex II to the Council Regulation 539/2001 as per its amendments.
• Holders of travel documents issued to stateless persons under the Convention relating to the Status of Stateless Persons of 28 September 1954, do not require a visa if the documents are issued by a member state of Schengen and the holders of these documents are residing in this Member State.
• All persons who are in possession of work permit or entry permit issued by the Civil Registry and Migration Department.
• All persons who possess a permanent or a temporary residence permit issued by the Civil Registry and Migration Department.

Types of Visa
Types of Visa Preconditions
Airport Transit Visa (Category A)
[ATV] An Airport Transit Visa (ATV)entitles aliens who are required to possess such a visa to pass through the international transit area of Cypriot airports without actually entering the territory of the Republic of Cyprus, during a stop-over or transfer between two stages of an international flight. The ATV is an exception to the general right to transit without a visa through Cyprus.
Short-stay Visa (Category C) This visa entitles aliens to enter the territory of the Republic of Cyprus, for reasons other than immigration, for a max period of 90 days within 6 months.
Multiple entry Visa (Category C) Multiple entry Visas (up to 5 years) are granted to third country nationals who provide proof of frequent visits to Cyprus and other EU countries. Similarly to the Short stay Visa, the duration of stay should not exceed the three months in any half year, starting from the date of first entry.
Visa issued at the border (Category C) Short-stay and ATVs can be exceptionally granted (only in emergency cases and following the approval of the Director of the Civil Registry and Migration Department) upon arrival at the legal ports of entry in the Republic.
Visa Extension (Category C) Holders of Category C visa may apply at the local Alien and Immigration Unit for an extension of their visa for a period up to 90 days from the date of entry, within 6 months. In case the granted visa bears the indication “Final”, the prior approval of the Schengen and Consular Affairs Division of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is compulsory.
Long-Stay Visa (Category D) This visa entitles the alien to stay in the Republic of Cyprus for a period up to one year

Holders of diplomatic or service or official passports:

1. Marshal Islands
2. Tuvalu
3. Kiribati
4. Peru
5. United Arab Emirates
6. Colombia
7. Tonga
8. Palau
9. St. Lucia
10. Dominica
11. Grenada
12. St. Vincent and the Grenadines
13. Vanuatu
14. Samoa
15. Τrinidad and Tobaco

Information Source:

There are no comments on this page.